The World's Airlines

Past, Present & Future

Home WorldAfricaAmericasEuropeRest of WorldTicketsHistory

Kiribati is an independent republic located in the central Pacific Ocean, about 4000 km (about 2500 mi) southwest of Hawaii. It is part of the division of the Pacific islands that is known as Micronesia. Kiribati consists of 33 coral islands divided among three island groups: the Gilbert Islands, the Phoenix Islands, and the Line Islands. All of the islands are atolls except for the island of Banaba in the Gilbert Islands. Of the 33 islands of Kiribati, 21 are inhabited. Most of the population is concentrated in the Gilbert Islands. Only one of the Phoenix Islands and three of the Line Islands are permanently inhabited. The capital of Kiribati is Tarawa, an atoll in the Gilbert Islands. Bairiki, an islet of Tarawa, serves as an administrative centre. Between 1892 and 1900 the British government made the Gilbert Islands a British protectorate. In 1916 the islands gave up their nominal sovereignty and became part of the Gilbert and Ellice Islands colony. The Phoenix and Line islands eventually joined the colony, and the Ellice Islands (now Tuvalu) seceded. In 1979 the colony became the independent republic of Kiribati.


Operating DatesStatus

Air Kiribati   

1995 - dateActive

^ Comments : Air Kiribati. the national airline of the republic of Kiribati was established and started operations on 01Apr1995

^ Genealogy :  

Air Tungaru   

1977* - 1995Inactive

^ Comments : Air Tungaru was founded on 31Oct1977

^ Genealogy :  

Coral Sun Airways   

2009* - dateActive

^ Comments : Coral Sun Airways was founded in Jan2009

^ Genealogy :  

Home WorldAfricaAmericasEuropeRest of WorldTicketsHistory